Browsed by
Month: November 2019

What is Pea Protein Powder?

What is Pea Protein Powder?

Pea Protein Powder

Peas (the protein powder in this case) belong to the legume family, obtained from the Pisum savtivum plant, these being green or yellow. When we think of pea proteins, a bowl full of peas may come to mind, but in reality, it isn’t so.

Thanks to the processes of obtaining the protein, we will have a product with a high percentage of proteins, also loaded with important amino acids, such as BCAAs. BCAAs, also called Branched Amino Acids, is a set of amino acids that our body is unable to synthesize by itself, only through food. The contribution of these amino acids to our body will mean the improvement of the recovery phase after physical stress.

It’s a 100% vegetable protein, doesn’t contain any products or derivatives of animal origin, being ideal for vegetarians and vegans. Similarly, anyone can consume it, being a great source of protein. For lactose intolerant, pea protein is perfect for them. It doesn’t contain lactose because it comes from a non-dairy vegetable source. If you consume this type of protein, you should not worry about stomach upset caused by lactose.

Its consumption is totally accepted by any type of nutritional regimen since it has a low fat and sugar content. It’s a pure source of protein. Nor do they contain gluten, one of the components that mostly produce allergy in people. It’s a feasible option for those who cannot consume protein of animal origin (egg or whey).

Pea protein has a biological value of 65/100 on the comparative amino acid scale (aminogram). With this it’s demonstrated that the ability of this protein to generate new protein structures in our body is good. Anyway, if you wanna raise this value, it can be combined with other plant sources and even animal sources (if you aren’t vegetarian or vegan).

The presentation of this protein powder helps to have a good solution and ingest it as a shake, mixed mainly with water. It can be mixed with milk of vegetable origin, even animal if you wish. Its use doesn’t cause any digestive problems or stomach upset. It’s a highly tolerable product for those who want to consume it.

Although it isn’t among the top of consumed proteins, experts foresee a drastic increase in popularity in the next two years, with a huge increase in those conscious and concerned about health and, above all, by a growing desire to base diets based on plants or vegetables, eliminating virtually any product of animal origin.